The First Step

During many years I tried to take some time to write about my experiences as a professional, and always, the excuse was “I don’t have time”. Funny thing is when you realise how much time you actually had available five years ago, and today it is hard to have time even for a nice lunch.

After more than 12 years as a professional in the IS/IT fields, I have a lot of stories to tell. In fact, if I would be able to summarise every relevant episode since 1997, I could write books of all stressful moments, failure and success – Alleluia -.

In the same way I have gotten knowledge available from an endless group of professionals, it makes sense to give something in return. Today I want to start writing about real experiences I have had in my life; because I am a believer that is the real experience in the field and people networking what makes the difference.

I just have in my mind those days in July 1997, when I started my first job as a Server Technician at university, receiving the first requests from my boss and trying to absorb everything like a sponge.

Twelve months later I got my first job in a private company, and that was the big milestone in my life. As every human being, I made wrong decisions, great decision and some times I did not make any decisions at all. What a days…

Two year later I was promoted as a manager, – 10 years ago actually – . That was the very moment I understood what I had done and what I had to do to continue on building my professional life. I was too young maybe, and I cannot regret the heaven and hell I lived; the only thing I can think about now, is how those moments started the path I am walking throughout a decade until today.

I am very proud of what I am and now I will be more than proud to share something that has been waiting so much time to get out from me.

Hope everyone would enjoy reading my post, same or more I would enjoy writing those.

– Walter Mena, 18 November 2010.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

